Campfire policies


Our Governance


There are six Members who are responsible for the strategic direction of the Trust and appoint the Trustees.

The Members are:

Andrew MacGarvey- Appointed 21/5/12

Liam Harrison -Appointed 1/3/12

Patrick Fealey- Appointed 1/12/11

Pearl Slater- Appointed 15/5/19

Dean Jones -Appointed 15/5/19

Steven Townsend- Appointed 15/5/19


The Board of Trustees is accountable for the running of the trust. The Board currently has five members including the CEO, three of whom are the original founders of the trust.

Andrew MacGarvey - Chair of Trustees

Appointed 1/11/13

Andrew has served as Chair of theTrust since 2013. Prior to taking the Chair, Andrew sat on the Governing Body for Bourton Meadow Academy. Outside of his work with the Trust, Andrew is the CEO of a global life sciences services company.

Andrew holds an MBA from the University of Newcastle and a law degree from The Open University. To relax Andrew coaches a local youth football team and is a committee member of the Milton Keynes Storm ice-hockey team.

Liam Harrison - Vice Chair of Trustees

Appointed 1/11/13

Liam became a school governor in 2009 and has been Director and Vice-Chair of the multi-Academy Trust since 2013. He holds a BSc and MSc and is a Business Development Director for an engineering and design consultancy. In 2012 he set up and now maintains 'Pathways to Engineering' with a national charity Citizens UK, to provide viable career routes for young people in East London. Both his children have progressed through the Trust and he is a passionate about achieving the Trust vision. He is a trained business coach and enjoys keeping fit.

Caroline Conquest - Trustee

Appointed 1/11/13

Caroline joined The Trust as a Director from the outset in 2013 and has also served as a Governor, primarily at Bourton Meadow Academy, for nine years. In her professional life, Caroline works in Human Resources (HR) and is a Member of the Chartered Institute of Personnel & Development. Currently working in HR within education, Caroline has previously undertaken senior HR roles in both the private and public sector. Having grown up in the local community, Caroline is passionate about the opportunities it offers to young people in the area.

Patrick Fealey - Trustee

Appointed 1/11/13

I am family man living in the local area. Having worked in telecommunications for 35 years and retired as head of UK Operations in 1999. Before this retirement I was asked to become a member of Buckingham School Governing body and became chairman in 1997, having served on a number of committees.

I then joined the school as the Senior Business manager. I then went on to join Bourton Meadow Academy. For 5 years I was chair of premises and Chair of Governors. I am a very instrumental and hands-on governor I have driven forward the conversion to Academy and Multi Academy Trust.

Sarah Conant - CEO

Appointed 4/3/19

Sarah has over 24 years’ experience in primary education having had a number of headships. The first of these was in Saudi Arabia setting up a new primary school for BAE systems as part of The British International School in Riyadh. When she returned to the UK she became head of a large primary in Wisbech Cambridgeshire. This was followed by two consultant headships; a primary in Peterborough and a large junior school in Ely working for The Diocese of Ely Multi Academy Trust (DEMAT) supporting schools to become academies.

This led to her moving into the central support team of the DEMAT, where she became the Deputy CEO with responsibilities for a number of central services, school improvement and the conversion process of schools wanting to join the MAT. She helped growing the MAT to 34 primary schools in 4 years.

Sarah enjoys spending time with her family and travelling. She and her husband have a passion for Formula One racing and have over the last few years tried to go to a different Grand Prix each year.

Local Governing Bodies.

Each academy has a local governing body responsible for the operational running of the academy providing challenge and support to the Head teacher under the Scheme of Delegation

  • Bourton Meadow Academy - Penny Croucher
  • Lace Hill Academy - Chris Garlick
  • George Grenville Accademy - Keith Harvey
  • Lumbertubs - Ann Partridge
  • Spring Lane Primary - Oliver Coss
  • Moorland Primary -TBC

Declaration of Interests (Pecuniary Interest)

At Campfire Education trust we have no Trustees or Members that have declared a Business Interest (Pecuniary Interest). It is recorded at all meetings and signed once year.

Governance Structure

Our governance structure:

Scheme of Delegation

Scheme of Delegation September 2019